Clever: Scan Your Clutter

School has begun and I had forgotten how much PAPER is sent home every day. My refrigerator is already littered with school policies, and calendars, and lunch menus…and I saw an article in Family Circle that I thought had the BEST IDEA EVER for a some-what-digitally-savvy-family.  (Notice that I said SOMEWHAT.)  In the quest to ban paper clutter, scan the documents so the digital forms are always available and never need to be re-stacked, or picked up off the kitchen floor, or filed, or organized. It’s so simple, and the system can be really effective if you can email permission slips to teachers (no more lost notes!) and can access the files online through either your email storage, or a free storage server.  I think I need to set up a scanning station that is easily accessible for the paper dump area (which generally is the entry table or kitchen counter). How brilliant is that? I can’t believe I’ve never thought of this! I’ll let you know how it goes. 

 

Image credit: Google

Leave a Reply

