Grief

 I am trying to process several large circumstances and frankly, not always doing it gracefully.  Don’t worry, I won’t unload specifics here, but I’ve found myself wondering “How long does grief last? When will this be over? When will the pain fade?”

I don’t see how grief fits into the fast-paced-get-it-done-lifestyle. I am impatient when I have to wait in line at Costco for five or ten minutes. Or at the Pharmacy? Don’t even get me started. I have few things in my everyday routine that cannot be accomplished as quickly as I choose. Most of my day is a tightly controlled environment made by me.

To be derailed from my routine at a moment’s notice by grief is excruciating.  I will be just fine one minute, and then puddling up the next.  I am not in control, as much as I try to ‘get a grip.’ To have to explain to my children, “mommy’s just feeling a little sad today, but I will be alright soon” is so very uncomfortable, so raw and real.

The one fact that I have today, is that grief takes time. This morning Maria Shriver posted this article on Twitter. It’s a good reminder for me to be gentle and patient with myself…and to allow for the passage of time which brings healing.

 

One response to “Grief

  1. Michel

    According to The Landing, grief never “ends”. We just learn to live alongside it and it eventually becomes part of the background. Not very hopeful, is it?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

