Sundries: Flowers and Veggies

It’s been too darn chilly to get outside and play in the dirt the past two weeks. Today, it wasn’t raining and almost broke the 60 degrees mark, so out we went. Me in my sweatshirt and jeans, and the girls wearing scant cotton summer outfits. It always amazes me how warm they are! ¬†About two hours later we had accomplished much and began cleaning up. In our adventures today we discovered a plethora of bugs and snails and slugs, became familiar with the ‘scent’ that accompanies chicken manure (in our bagged potting mix), and re-sowed lettuce and beets where the slugs had eaten our poor little bean plants. Slugs. I have STRONG feelings when it comes to slugs. I found one in the dirt of our lettuce patch and skewered him with my pointy shovel. Score: me-1, slugs-10 (number of bean plants destroyed, conservatively).

I’m so happy to be productive with vegetables and flowers! I truly dislike buying produce at Costco that I can grow at home. It tastes so much better fresh–and the kids love it, too. Today we finally planted some of our flowers that have been waiting on the porch since Mother’s Day. The pots look great.

Columbine, snapdragons, alyssum, pansies, and lemon marigolds (they smell so wonderful when touched!)

When it is too chilly to be comfortable outside, I take so much joy from indoor plants. I’ve had a few ‘rescue’ orchids come my way in the past two months, and I am so pleased at how much progress they’ve made. One is positively on the brink of blooming again, and the other…is coming along nicely. New leaves are the next best thing to more buds!

I am ridiculously proud of this orchid! See the buds? It’s going to bloom any day now, I can feel it…

Have a lovely weekend, friends. I think the sun will be out soon. In the meantime, I’ll be enjoying my cheerful flowers from the kitchen window. :)

Cheers,

Alexis

One response to “Sundries: Flowers and Veggies

  1. Raeiah

    This makes me want to garden again!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

